|
The Alberto Sordi Museum will be officially inaugurated in late summer, between September and October. It is located in the mansion that the famous Roman actor bought in 1954 (beating his friend Vittorio De Sica to it) and where, on the night of February 24th, 2003, he closed his eyes forever, leaving 180 timeless films in the legacy of cinema. The museum was wanted by Aurelia Sordi, Alberto’s beloved sister who died in 2014. She left the villa overlooking the Baths of Caracalla to a foundation so that it could be transformed into a place open to the public — that public to whom the actor had dedicated his life, giving up marriage and having a family. The Ministry has placed the house under protection, and from now until eternity, it will serve only to commemorate Sordi's tremendous career and talent. The exhibition named "The Invention of Cinema" will open the Museum and will focus on technical advances invented in Italy, such as the slow motion camera, from the late nineteenth century to the postwar period. The exhibition will be free at Aurelia's request, and reservations are required for small group visits to the villa, in accordance with the Fire Department's safety guidelines. The villa houses records, images, stage costumes, the actor's personal wardrobe (covered by cellophane), accolades, and mementos, as well as a digital archive that may be accessed via the website fondazionemuseoalbertosordi.org. The three original De Chirico paintings are now at the Gallery of Modern Art, while copies remain in the house along with the famous portrait of Sordi signed by Geleng.
|